Competition regulations

I. General information

The 2nd International Music Composition Competition for Symphony Orchestra “Future Symphony” is organised by “Muzikinis pirštas”, PI. Eligible for participation are students and graduates from any country aged 18–35 (born not earlier than September 18th 1984 and not later than July 5th 2002 inclusive). The students and graduates are required to be from any of the following: high schools of art, academies, conservatories, universities, and art high schools or art schools. All participants compete in the same category.

II. Registration and score submission

All participants must register by June 5th 2020, 23:59 EEST (Lithuanian time). The registered participants must submit the score in PDF format (all the requirements are specified in paragraph IX.) and the sound recording of the composition in an MP3 format (made by notographic software) till July 5th 2020, 23:59 EEST (Lithuanian time). After this date, the authors cannot correct or change the scores.

III. Participation fee

The participation fee until 5th April 2020 23:59 EEST is 50 EUR. The participation fee from April 6th 2020 onwards is 80 EUR. The payment is returned to the participants only in the event of the competition being cancelled.

Since it is fully restricted to make/receive international transfers to/from countries listed below, Future Symphony Competition allows composers from these countries to participate in the Competition without any registration fee. Unless it is paid before the end of registration, they will not receive a cash prize in case of winning.
The countries under international sanctions are: Iran, North Korea, Syria, the Republic of Sudan, Cuba and Crimea region of Ukraine

IV. Competition process

1st competition round: July 5–20th 2020.
2nd competition round – the final concert: 17th September 2020, 19:00.
Location of the final concert: Lithuanian National Philharmonic Hall, Vilnius.

  • 1st round: all scores are sent in by the participants; those satisfying all the requirements are sent to the jury of the 1st round which then selects up to 10 best scores for the final concert. The results of the 1st round are sent to each contestant by e-mail and announced on the website by July 20th 2020 (date inclusive).
  • The period between the rounds: participants selected for the 2nd round must submit the instrumental parts by August 5th (date inclusive). All submitted parts will be reviewed by the technical committee. If the committee evaluates that the composition contains parts technically impossible to perform, they will be cut out.
  • 2nd round: during the final concert the compositions of the 2nd round will be performed by Future Symphony Orchestra (FSO). The 2nd round jury will evaluate and award the authors of the best compositions at the end of the concert.
V. Competition committees

The compositions will be evaluated by three committees:

  • 1st round jury will evaluate the scores submitted for the 1st round. All jury members are professional composers. To ensure confidentiality, the jury members are announced with the results of the 1st round.
  • The technical committee will review the difficulty of the compositions selected for the 2nd round. The committee is composed of concertmasters of all the orchestra’s instrument groups and the orchestra’s conductor.
  • 2nd round jury will evaluate the compositions performed during the final concert and will select the prize winners of the competition. Members of the jury:
    Raminta Šerkšnytė (Lithuania)
    Ayal Adler (Israel)
    Lina Navickaitė-Martinelli (Lithuania)
    Andris Dzenītis (Latvia)
    Gediminas Gelgotas (Lithuania)
    Dobrinka Tabakova (Bulgaria / UK)

The evaluation made by the committee and both juries is final and indisputable. The members of the 2nd round jury may vary.

VI. Evaluation criteria
The participants’ compositions are evaluated according to:
  • Artistic suggestion of the piece;
  • professionalism of composing, informative and orderly notation;
  • understanding of orchestration and the capabilities of instruments.
VII. Competition prizes

The authors of the best pieces written for the 2nd International Music Composition Competition for Symphony Orchestra “Future Symphony” will be awarded with a competition diploma and prizes:

1st place – 1000 Eur
2nd place – 700 Eur
3rd place – 500 Eur
Special prize founded by Saulius Karosas Foundation "for the best piece written by a Lithuanian composer" - 300 Eur

Prizewinners will have an opportunity to work with Lithuania‘s best music festivals as well as receive professional recordings of their pieces.

VIII. Competition collective

The compositions in the 2nd round will be performed by Future Symphony Orchestra (FSO), artistic director and conductor – Adomas Morkūnas-Budrys.

FSO is a symphony orchestra established specifically for this competition. Members of the orchestra are professional musicians and students of Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre (LMTA).

IX. Competition terms and conditions
  • During the competition and up until the award ceremony complete anonymity of the composers is maintained;
  • Each author can submit only one score;
  • The participants agree to public disclosure of the information they provide and photos;
  • All composers can participate in the orchestra’s rehearsals and cooperate with the conductor. The rehearsals are recorded and the recordings are sent to the composers in 12 hours after the end of each rehearsal. The competition reserves the right to present the public with an interpretation of the composition chosen by the conductor;
  • FSO reserves the right to add the composition to its repertoire without transferring the right to other parties, also to broadcast it free of charge and to put it on the internet indefinitely;
  • When registering to the competition, the participants confirm the accuracy of the provided information; those not abiding by the terms and conditions, deadlines, or acting dishonestly are disqualified from the competition;
  • The organisers of the competition reserve the right to change the terms and conditions.
Score requirements:
  • Composition length: 8–12 min;
  • Information about the maximum structure for the performers you will find here.
    Pieces for symphony orchestra with electronic music and pieces for a soloist and orchestra cannot take part in the competition. Any additional elements (choreography, reseating the orchestra, etc.) must be coordinated by July 5th 2020.
  • The compositions submitted must be original, created specifically for this competition and not performed live before;
  • To maintain the anonymity of the compositions for evaluation purposes, the composer cannot sign his name and surname in the score or in the parts.
X. Accommodation, meals and travel

Attendance of composers in the final concert of the 2nd round is optional (money prizes are transferred to the specified bank account and the recordings are sent by e-mail). All expenses for accommodation, meals, travel, etc. are paid by the participants themselves.